LibGuides: Literature Searching: Evidence based practice

Database searching - some worked examples

Searching PubMed
A presentation to illustrate how to carry out a search on PubMed. This will feature a number of tools specific to PubMed, how and when to use them.
Searching the CINAHL Database
This presentation provides details of the database itself, together with a worked example of a search which illustrates different features of the database. The featured search is on the topic "dermatology".

https://s4be.cochrane.org/blog/2021/04/06/main-databases-for-literature-search/

This is from a site called "Students 4 best evidence" and provides a description of some of the databases available - some free, some by subscription only - their focus, and when to use them.

Research toolkit

Evidence Synthesis Ireland provide a range of very useful webinars - free. Check out their forthcoming events at: Training and Webinars • Evidence Synthesis Ireland

A guide to using technological applications to facilitate systematic reviews
Gibbs, Karen DiValerio, Jennifer Loveless, and Stacey Crane. "A guide to using technological applications to facilitate systematic reviews." Worldviews on Evidence‐Based Nursing (2022).
more...less...
An excellent review of different technologies to facilitate the different phases of carrying out a Systematic Review.
"Aim: To guide researchers through the currently available technological applications that can assist with the SR process and synthesis of scientific literature."
Research Rabbit
Creates citation maps of recommended articles based on user provided collections of papers. Import collection from citation manager or build a new one using Pubmed ID, DOI, or keyword search. Free to use if you set up an account.
Dimensions
An AI tool to find similar articles and provide metrics (altmetrics) for specific papers. Also useful for snowballing, identifying references and citing articles.

EU Network for HTA
"Process of information retrieval for systematic reviews and health technology assessments on clinical effectiveness". A very useful guide on building a search strategy.

Epistemonikos
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.

Librarian

Gerry McManus

Email Me