LibGuides: Resources for Medical/Surgical staff: Home

A collection of resources developed for Medical/Surgical staff and students

Irish College of General Practitioners
"The Irish College General Practitioners (ICGP) is the professional body for general practice in Ireland. The College was founded in 1984 and is based in Lincoln Place, Dublin 2. The College's primary aim is to serve the patient and the general practitioner by encouraging and maintaining the highest standards of general medical practice. It is the representative organisation on education, training and standards in general practice."
Irish Medical Organisation
"The role of the IMO is to represent doctors in Ireland and to provide them with all relevant services.
It is committed to the development of a caring, efficient and effective Health Service."

Locating evidence

PubMed
"PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."
Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library consists of the following databases:
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews).
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL).
Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Protocols and CENTRAL are produced by Cochrane." (Wikipedia)
more...less...
Cochrane Systematic Reviews are available in full as there is a National subscription.
TRIP Database
"Trip medical database: a smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence"
more...less...
PRO version available to SVHG staff.
Epistemonikos
"Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions."

Point of Care

BMJ Best Practice
"BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it.

Our step by step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention is updated daily using robust evidence based methodology and expert opinion."
more...less...
"Now, more than ever, clinical teams need to adopt an integrated approach to patient care. This means recognising a patient’s comorbidities – and how they interact. Simple to say, but how do we put this principle into practice?

Well, help is at hand. Our Comorbidities Manager is integrated into BMJ Best Practice, the clinical decision support tool that helps professionals treat the whole patient. In fact, it is the only such clinical decision support tool available."
UpToDate
UpToDate is an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, and roughly 20 other specialties.
more...less...
Subscription through SVHG.
BestBETS
"BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. BETs take into account the shortcomings of much current evidence, allowing physicians to make the best of what there is. Although BETs initially had an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics."

Searching PubMed

Searching PubMed - a playlist
A series of short videos by @carrieprice78 showing how to find the most relevant results for your search using its various tools.

Radiology

Radiology Cafe
Radiology reference websites:
Links to useful free online radiology resources for radiology trainees
Wheeless' Textbook of Orthopaedics
An Orthopaedics Textbook presented by Duke University Medical Center’s Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, in conjunction with Data Trace Internet Publishing, LLC, is a true head to toe, comprehensive discussion of orthopaedic topics.

Content Rich with thousands of pages in an easy-to-read outline format, accompanied by countless explanatory photos, drawings, radiological images, and videos,

Librarian

Gerry McManus

Email Me