Skip to Main Content

Library Basics: Everything you need to get started with the Library: How to find a database

Introduction

SVHG Libraries subscribe to a number of core clinical electronic resources, including e-journals, e-books and databases. These are available to the staff of St Vincent’s Healthcare Group, as well as all students on placement in the hospitals.

In this guide you will learn how to access Databases from within the Hospitals and remotely, using your OpenAthens account
You can also watch a short video on how to do this.

A-Z Database dropdown list

Want to find a library database? Check out the dropdown menus below, select your database and click go.

Other Guides in this Series

How to access databases

  • You will be brought directly to A-Z Databases on Libguides

 

 

  • We provide access to around 28 databases, but we are always adding to this list. There are a number of ways of getting to the database links:
  1. Scroll through the list
  2. Click on the letters of the alphabet
  3. Search for a database by name or speciality (eg. nursing, physiotherapy)

  • Click on the link to go straight to the database website:

  • If you are INSIDE the SVHG hospitals you will get straight into the database website

  • If you are at HOME or OUTSIDE the Hospitals, you will be brought to the OpenAthens login screen first

 

What is OpenAthens?

Allows libraries to manage who has access to their resources – all staff, all students on placement

Allows library users to access all our electronic resources from anywhere

OpenAthens Application Form

If you don't already have an OpenAthens account you can apply for one here.

Click the link below to complete the application form and email it to:

SVUH/SVPH - libraryerc@svuh.ie

SMH - library@stmichaels.ie

Further help

We are here to help!

Library staff are here to support all your information needs, whether it's for patient care, quality improvement, research or education.

We can provide in-person or online training on everything you see on this guide, including:

  • How to use our Library website
  • How to search our Catalogue and borrow a book
  • How to figure out which database to use (Emerald? PubMed? Cinahl?)
  • How to search the databases 
  • How to manage references and citations

 

For further help with anything, contact us at: libraryerc@svuh.ie OR library@stmichaels.ie