Leading Change by
John Kotter's now-legendary eight-step process for managing change with positive results has become the foundation for leaders and organizations across the globe. By outlining the process every organization must go through to achieve its goals, and by identifying where and how even top performers derail during the change process, Kotter provides a practical resource for leaders and managers charged with making change initiatives work. Needed more today than at any time in the past, this immensely relevant bestselling business book serves as both visionary guide and practical toolkit on how to approach the difficult yet crucial work of leading change in any type of organization. Reading this highly personal book is like spending a day with the world's foremost expert on business leadership. You're sure to walk away inspired--and armed with the tools you need to inspire others. Published by Harvard Business Review Press.
Making Sense of Change Management by
This definitive, bestselling text in the field of change management provides comprehensive guidance of everything needed to successfully navigate times of change. Making Sense of Change Management provides a thorough and accessible overview for students and practitioners alike. Without relying on assumed knowledge, it comprehensively covers the theories and models of change management and connects them to workable approaches and techniques that organizations of all types and sizes can use to adapt to tough market conditions and succeed by changing their strategies, structures, mindsets, leadership behaviours and expectations of staff and managers. This completely revised and updated fifth edition contains new chapters on digital transformation and becoming a sustainable business, new material on resilience, well-being and effective leadership, and new examples from organizations including Google, Burberry and Volvo. Supported by "food for thought" and "stop and think" features to aid critical thinking and understanding, as well as checklists, tips and helpful summaries, Making Sense of Change Management remains essential reading for anyone who is currently part of, or leading, a change initiative. New and updated accompanying online resources include international case study question packs for lecturers and lecture slides with reflective questions.
Change Lessons from the CEO by
Real stories from real CEOs on implementing successful change initiatives in any organization Change is difficult. In large organizations with established cultures, managing change can be one of the biggest challenges for business leaders and managers. Using a wealth of real stories from real CEOs on how they managed major change initiatives--and the lessons they learned along the way--Change Lessons from a CEO gives professionals and business students powerful and effective guidance on successfully managing change initiatives in any organization. The book's uniquely flexible approach lets readers build their own models for change based on their unique organizational structure, culture, and situation. Throughout, the book emphasizes the importance of authenticity in the change leader's role and how to manifest that authenticity throughout a change initiative. With examples and case studies from multinational corporations, non-governmental organizations, and small and medium-size businesses, this book is a valuable tool for leaders of any organization of any size. Offers real-world insight from CEOs and leaders Ideal for CEOs, managers, leaders of non-profit organizations, consultants, and students in business programs Includes case studies and first-hand accounts of successful change initiatives in a wide range of businesses and organizations of all sizes Change is inevitable. Managing change initiatives successfully can be the difference between organizations and teams that thrive and those that come apart at the seams. For business leaders and students, this book offers practical and proven guidance for doing change right.
Organizational Change by
This very successful textbook explores change and how it relates to the complexities of organizational life, and puts an emphasis on applying the theory to practice. Now significantly updated and in its 5th edition, Organizational Change reflects a rapidly changing world and considers 'how change has changed'. The book is structured in three parts. The first part considers the causes and nature of change. Part two opens up the organization to expand on issues of structuring for change, the cultural and political contexts for change and how to lead change. Part three moves firmly into addressing the more practical considerations of designing, planning and implementing change. Ideal for both MBA students and those studying specialist courses in Organizational Development and Change, the clear structure and content of this text also make it accessible to final year undergraduate students. Key features Offers comprehensive coverage of the significant ideas and issues associated with change at all levels of organizational activity, from the strategic to the operational, and at the individual, group, organizational and societal levels. Takes a conceptual and analytical approach to the way that theory and research relate to organizations, and how change is explored. Includes practical elements and worked examples of different approaches to 'doing' change. Provides illustrations of practical change situations in each chapter. Invites readers to undertake challenging activities to encourage the application of ideas and learning from the text to personal experience. Provides end-of-chapter cases, additional reading and suggested websites for readers wishing to pursue ideas and issues further. New to this edition Significantly updated chapters in terms of content, illustrations and recent theory and research. Since the last edition, the final chapter has been specifically updated to reflect the changing social, demographic, technological and economic contexts for the future of organizations and work. New material on complexity theory, strategic change, actor-networks, institutional theory and leadership. An exploration of how 'change has changed' in recent years, plus content on organizations of the future and challenges for future research. Barbara Senior is a Chartered Occupational Psychologist who has published a number of books, articles and conference papers based on her research and activities. She is Principal of the Highfield Consultancy, which researches and offers consultancy services in the areas of organizational psychology and change. Stephen Swailes is Professor of Human Resource Management at the University of Huddersfield.
The Theory and Practice of Change Management by
John Hayes' bestselling textbook combines a scholarly discussion of change management with a host of practical tools and techniques. It provides future managers with all the skills they need to diagnose the need for change and to ensure its successful implementation. The book's unique underpinning framework views change as a purposeful and constructed sequence of events, rather than something chaotic and unmanageable. Its hands-on approach includes a number of 'Change Tools' that students can apply to various scenarios, an array of case studies and examples based on real-life organisations worldwide and video interviews with experienced change practitioners, who share their insights on key topics. The book will be essential reading for final-year business undergraduates, as well as MBA and postgraduate students who are taking modules in change management or organisational change. It is also ideal for change practitioners and consultants.New to this Edition:- Two new chapters on ethical change management practice- A new chapter on value innovation- A new section showing how the book supports employability skills- Brand new international case studies and examples, including the Volkswagen emissions scandal, the collapse of BHS, and company culture at Uber- A free-to-access website featuring audio-visual Tutorials with narration by the author, lecturer slides, detailed briefings on the book's case studies, and much moreAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/the-theory-and-practice-of-change-management-5e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Managing Transitions: making the most of change by
The job of managing workplace change can be difficult; managed poorly, the result can be disastrous to the morale and stability of the staff. As veteran business consultant William Bridges explains, successful organizational change takes place when employees have a clear purpose, a plan for, and a part to play in their changing surroundings. Directed at managers on all rungs of the proverbial corporate ladder, this expanded edition of the classic bestseller provides practical, step-by-step strategies for minimizing the disruptions caused by workplace change. It is an invaluable managerial tool for navigating these tumultuous, uncertain times.
Practicing Organization Development by
Get on the cutting edge of organization development Practicing Organization Development: Leading Transformation and Change, Fourth Edition is your newly revised guide to successful organization development. This edition has been updated to explore the cutting edge of change management, leadership development, organizational transformation, and society benefit. These concepts are explored through emerging and increasingly accepted strengths-based approaches such as: appreciative inquiry, emotionally and socially intelligent leadership, positive organization development, and sustainable enterprises. This edition offers both theoretical concepts and guides to practical applications, providing you with the knowledge, techniques, and tools to put organizational development to effective use in the workplace. Organization development is an evolving field focused on understanding and positively impacting the human system processes of groups, teams, organizations, and individual leaders. Thorough organization development results in increased effectiveness, improved health, and overall success. This book shows how to attain positive change by: identifying contemporary themes in organization development, executing organization development approaches, as well as elevating and extending research agenda. This book also illustrates how to influence organizational stakeholders, and how to use this influence to enact key organization development practices. This new edition is enhanced by: Updated chapter-by-chapter lesson plans, sample syllabi, and workshop agendas Revised sample exercises, a test bank, and additional case studies Expanded online appendices that cover regional organization development concepts from around the globe, as well as overviews of additional special issues Organization development is quickly becoming an important aspect of MBA curricula. Practicing Organization Development: Leading Transformation and Change, Fourth Edition gives graduate and doctorate program participants a comprehensive overview of organization development, the resources to learn the field, and the tools to apply their knowledge.
ABC of Quality Improvement in Healthcare by
Quality improvement (QI) is embedded in the fabric of successful healthcare organisations across the world, with healthcare professionals increasingly expected to develop and lead improvement as a core part of their clinical responsibilities. As a result, QI is rapidly becoming a feature of the education and training programmes of all healthcare professionals. Written and edited by some of the leading clinicians and managers in the field, ABC of Quality Improvement is designed for clinicians new to the discipline, as well as experienced leaders of change and improvement. Providing comprehensive coverage and clear, succinct descriptions of the major tools, techniques and approaches, this new addition to the ABC series demystifies quality improvement and develops a broader understanding of what constitutes quality in healthcare. With practical examples of improvement interventions and the common pitfalls that can befall them, this book will support and enable readers to manage change projects within their own organisations. Relevant to doctors, dentists, nurses, health service managers and support staff, medical students and doctors in training, their tutors and trainers, and other healthcare professionals at various levels, ABC of Quality Improvement will give readers the confidence to embark on their own improvement projects, whoever, and wherever they may be.
McLaughlin and Kaluzny's continuous quality improvement in health care by
Through a unique interdisciplinary perspective on health care quality and safety, McLaughlin & Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care, Fifth Edition covers the subjects of operations management, organizational behavior, and healthcare service delivery. With a broad focus on both the philosophy and processes of Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI), the challenges of implementation and institutionalization are addressed using examples from a variety of health care organizations, including primary care clinics, public health departments, and academic health centers.Significantly revised and updated throughout, the Fifth Edition offers a greater focus on practical application and incorporates contributions from leading health care quality. Additionally, the text has been reorganized and streamlined into 14 chapters, in lieu of the prior edition's 20 chapters, to make it an even more effective teaching and learning tool. While being more applied and practical, it does so without sacrificing depth. Extensive citations and detailed examples help students to understand the rationale and the most recent research and practice evidence that underpins the new techniques described. The 5th Edition features:- Streamlined coverage for enhanced teachability.- New chapters on Implementation Science, Lean Six Sigma, and Understanding Variation, Tools and Data Sources for CQI in Health Care- Greater focus on application. For example, the new implementation science chapter includes an appendix describing how to apply implementation science.- Discussion of the Quadruple Aim of health care and impact on CQI; how Public Health has institutionalized CQI to ensure community health quality; how CQI has been more broadly adopted in Low to Middle Income Countries; and much more.
Lean Hospitals by
Organizations around the world are using Lean to redesign care and improve processes in a way that achieves and sustains meaningful results for patients, staff, physicians, and health systems. Lean Hospitals, Third Edition explains how to use the Lean methodology and mindsets to improve safety, quality, access, and morale while reducing costs, increasing capacity, and strengthening the long-term bottom line. This updated edition of a Shingo Research Award recipient begins with an overview of Lean methods. It explains how Lean practices can help reduce various frustrations for caregivers, prevent delays and harm for patients, and improve the long-term health of your organization. The second edition of this book presented new material on identifying waste, A3 problem solving, engaging employees in continuous improvement, and strategy deployment. This third edition adds new sections on structured Lean problem solving methods (including Toyota Kata), Lean Design, and other topics. Additional examples, case studies, and explanations are also included throughout the book. Mark Graban is also the co-author, with Joe Swartz, of the book Healthcare Kaizen: Engaging Frontline Staff in Sustainable Continuous Improvements, which is also a Shingo Research Award recipient. Mark and Joe also wrote The Executive's Guide to Healthcare Kaizen.
Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals by
Simple Steps to Improve Patient Safety, Patient Flow and the Bottom Line This thoroughly revised resource shows, step-by-step, how to simplify, streamline, analyze, and optimize healthcare performance using tested Lean Six Sigma and change management techniques. Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals, Second Edition, follows the patient from the front door of the hospital or emergency room all the way through discharge. The book fully explains how to improve operations and quality of care while dramatically reducing costs--often in just five days. Real-world case studies from major healthcare institutions illustrate successful implementations of Lean Six Sigma. Coverage includes: * Lean Six Sigma for hospitals, emergency departments, operating rooms, medical imaging facilities, nursing units, pharmacies, and ICUs * Patient flow and quality * Clinical staff * Order and claims accuracy * Billing and collection * Defect and medical error reduction * Excel power tools for Lean Six Sigma * Data mining and analysis * Process flow charts and control charts * Laser-focused process innovation * Statistical tools for Lean Six Sigma * Planning and implementation
Tools: